Deals and Steals: Industrial Backfill

My Second Spin order just came in, and I wanted to share some of the awesome. The theme of this one seems to be me filling in my industrial collection, with three records each from Noise Unit and Chemlab. Real drummers lose the war against the  machines today! So here’s what I got, in order of bargainity:

Manowar – Gods of War $7.19. ’nuff said about the record, and it’s so damned expensive new.

Dimmu Borgir – In Sorte Diaboli $7.19. See above.

Overkill – Necroshine $5.59. Not their best effort, but Overkill is close to my heart, via my denim vest.

Noise Unit – Voyeur $6.39, Drill $5.59 and Decoder $6.39. I’m a total junkie for anything Leeb/Fulber, so even the fact that I know Decoder is boring and I’ve never even heard of Voyeur didn’t stop me.

Chemlab – East Side Militia $1.59, Suture $3.90 and Oxidizer $6.39. Killer price on the first one (Mortal Kombat, anyone?) the second is a remix record containing the entire 10 Ton Pressure EP and the third is one Jared put out after anyone stopped caring. I’ll be reviewing that one, as it’s a new surprise to me.

It’s a tie for my favourite deal of the bunch:

Godflesh – In All Languages $6.39. A double CD with the first being a remastered career retrospective and the second some rarities. Hard to find now (typical Earache). Great stuff from one of the heaviest bands in the world. 

Skrew – Burning in Water, Drowning in Flame $1.50. Is it good? Kind of! Is it worth a buck fitty? Definitely! The argument can be made that Skrew’s three-guitar layering echoes the big noise made by Godflesh, in a southern-fried Summer of Hate way. Who are we kidding? No industrial metal without them – Godflesh FTW!

All prices $US and I paid the big donut for shipping this time around. Online coupons, I lurve you!

2 Responses to “Deals and Steals: Industrial Backfill”

  1. […] Onward Faustian Soldiers Heavy Metal Reviews and Criticism « Deals and Steals: Industrial Backfill […]

  2. Update: In All Languages is a must-have for any Godflesh fan, heavy metal historian or aficianado of dub, noisecore, and shoegaze. Also bass so fuzzy you could fit your head between the strings and the body.

Leave a Reply

