Deals and Steals: Rarities Old and New

 Long-awaited stuff in the old mailbox this time around. All prices $US. Without further ado:

Mighty Force – Hypnovel $1.31. Interesting EBM from early 90’s PWEI disciples.

Numb – Language of Silence $3.49. There’s an album after Blood Meridian? I didn’t know either. 

Judas Priest  – Touch of Evil: Live $4.40. Good material from the 2005-2008 reunion tours.   

Arch Enemy – The Root of All Evil $6.29. Early hits redux avec Angela.        

Peaches – I Feel Cream $6.29. Yeah, I like Peaches. Deal with it.

Junkie XL – Today $2.29 and Booming Back at You $3.97. My favourite big beat artist waxes alt-rock and then returns to his roots.

Wesley Willis – Rock ‘N’ Roll Will Never Die $3.41. If you don’t like Wesley you have no soul.

And now the big finds of the batch: 

  The Schoolyard Heroes – The Funeral Sciences $5.59. Hard to find, and no one cares but me. There’s a forthcoming article about why I love this horror/opera/punk band so much.
     

Doubting Thomas – Infidel $5.59. Also hard to find, but well worth it. Pre-Download project from the Skinny Puppy camp.

Lucky thirteen bucks shipping this time – I gotta start reviewing some of the things I’m bringing in!

2 Responses to “Deals and Steals: Rarities Old and New”

  1. WarSteiner Says:

    Good catch on the Doubting Thomas. I have the single, but the album is very rare.
    I guess I’ll be looking up all kinds of new music after this review. Who is Wesley Willis……..?

    • He’s a schizophrenic man who writes pops songs using a Radio Shack sequencer. They are mainly the same words shouted over and over about various bands he likes and how he hates riding on the bus.

      That description sounds glib, but he’s genuinely compelling and he loves rocking out. Music seems to be his way of coping with his difficulties, and I think everyone can relate to that.

Leave a Reply

