Album Review – Eluveitie “Everything Remains as it Never Was” 2010

 Folk metal’s not normally my bagpipe, but I was more than pleasantly surprised by the serious chops this eight-piece Swiss outfit brought to their set opening up for Amon Amarth in April. Everything was tight, loud and performed with gusto. I’ve never someone fully rock out the hurdy-gurdy before, but Anna Murphy put the grind in organ grinder;  hair whips and all.

The disc doesn’t quite capture the feel of the live performance, but it comes close. It’s well-produced and contains plenty of both traditional music and metal of the melodic death variety. My only quibble would be that the two are somewhat divorced in the song structure of the album, which is sort of folk song-metal song-folk-folk-metal-metal-folk with few examples of the cross-pollination of which they are capable (as per their live show) and which I think is their true strength. It’s a minor complaint; the whole thing is enjoyable on its own terms. Now that fellow Helvetians Samael have gone old-school pagan again, can an all-Swiss tour be far behind?

If you’ve always wanted Kalmah to get into a mud fight with the Mediæval Bæbes during a barn-raising, here it is. 8 out of 10

3 Responses to “Album Review – Eluveitie “Everything Remains as it Never Was” 2010”

  1. WarSteiner Says:

    I like what I heard on youtube, but I haven’t been able to find the album yet. I’m headed out today so I’m hoping I get lucky. Who can resist a barnraising mudfight?

  2. Nice review!! I know the whole folk metal genre is getting a bit saturated, but there are some great bands within it, and these guys are on the top of the heap. Have you checked out their back catalog? Evocation I is a interesting album and Slania is their best so far, imo.

    • I’ve seen their live show again since and it’s right up there with Amorphis and Amon Amarth, both bands that I think are on top of their game. I agree that the earlier stuff from Eluveitie is quality material as well.

Leave a Reply

