Looking Ahead – Calling All Faustians

Hey all, with 2011 drawing to a close, I wanted to ask for some suggestions for next year. In particular I’d like to know what you want in terms of Classic Album Reviews. There’s lots of great stuff out there but you must get tired of hearing about all the things that blew my mind in 1989 (I have a theory that everyone has a Favourite Year that roughly corresponds to age 16. Does that hold up for you?)

So tell me, what Classic Albums do you want to see in this space the year the world ends? Keep the following in mind:

– It should be at least 15 years old, so we’re looking at the mid-90’s at latest.

– It should represent a significant contribution to the band’s career, the genre or heavy music in general. The best will do all three or more!

– I don’t promise a hagiography. If there are issues with the sound etc. you’re gonna hear about it. With that in mind:

– Yes, it can be classic and bad! The “significant contribution” can be a warning as well as a triumph. 

Let me know what you think is a true Classic – I’d love to hear from you!

8 Responses to “Looking Ahead – Calling All Faustians”

  1. A few classics that have changed my life and Metal in general for your consideration.

    Faith No More – Angel Dust
    Malhavoc – Get Down
    Sepultura – Roots
    Prong – Prove You Wrong
    Swamp Terrorists – Grim Stroke Disease

    A few faves that I didn’t find lurking in the archives, hope this givs you an idea or two. Happy New Year!

  2. WarSteiner Says:

    I would love to see a review of “the way to suck eggs” album by Ministry. I loved it, but some didn’t. I’ll check my music library and get back to you. Up the Irons!

  3. Somebody find me a copy of Grim Stroke Disease!

  4. WarSteiner Says:

    You can buy it through iTunes for $8.99 too.

  5. Thanks – I actually think I have a cassette somewhere. Remember those?

  6. WarSteiner Says:

    I finally had a look at my CDs and I think a review of either Scumdogs or America Must Be Destroyed by GWAR needs a retro review. Also, I’m really digging the new Motorhead, so Ace of Spades might need a second look.
    I’ve also been listening to Fresh Fruit for Rotting Vegetables.
    Man, I’m old.

Leave a Reply

