Deals & Steals: Frantic Transatlantic

  Hey all, this installment is imbued with all  the usual bipolar vacillation between my metal and electronic obsessions. All prices $US, and shipping was $7.99.

Rob Zombie: Educated Horses $4.00. I finally get around to Mr. Z’s least-understood record. Not bad!

Powerman 5000: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly Volume 1 and True Force, $$5.47 and free with promotion, respectively. I also decided to include the younger Zombie sibling on this order. The first album is an early-material re-release, and the second is their first EP. Considerable overlap; good thing one was free!

Covenant: Europa $6.27. If imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, Europa is a love letter to Front by Front.

Sister Machine Gun: The Torture Technique $4.79. A friend recently gifted me with a SMG discography, but likely (and sensibly) held out on me by keeping this one, their best.

Fu Manchu: Action is Go $6.99. I Googled “What is Fu Manchu’s best album?” Who am I to disagree with the internet?

Scooter: The Stadium Techno Experience. Free with promotion. No comment.

And not-leastly:

  Metallica: Garage Inc. $9.99. What can I say? Still the best way to get hold of their extensive and well-chosen covers collection. This also allows me to retire my rare original Garage Days disc. I should also mention that the champs at Second Spin, having mistakenly sent me only one disc of the set, immediately shipped me a new set. One email, no questions. Gotta like that level of service. Anybody need a Disc One of this thing?

2 Responses to “Deals & Steals: Frantic Transatlantic”

  1. WarSteiner Says:

    Sadly it was’t on purpose, never had that album. Sounds like I need to get a copy. Can you recommend one of the other albums to put on my ipod? It’s been a while since I listened to them.

    • If you want a classic Chicago industrial sound, go for Sins of the Flesh. For the electro-blues thing they did later, put on Burn. Very different things, considering the evolution of the band.

Leave a Reply

