Album Review – Dethklok “Dethalbum III” 2012

  In online discussions about Metalocalypse I’m always troubled by the number of folks who claim no interest in the show, but call themselves Dethklok fans.* I disagree; in fact I think the exact opposite: I’m a Dethklok fan only insofar as I’m a Metalocalypse fan. I don’t really judge the music against other metal bands because a) it’s a satire and b) the band doesn’t actually exist. For me, the albums are good when they serve the needs of the show, and that’s the reason I loved the hilarious excess of Dethalbum while the sequel left me cold. Fake bands shouldn’t make real records, no matter how skilled the masterminds might be, lest it ruin the joke.

Dethalbum III splits the difference, producing ridiculous treats “I Ejaculate Fire” and “Crush the Industry” alongside “real” Dethklok tunes “Skyhunter” and “Rejoin”. Nathan Explosion is back to sounding like himself (a bone I had to pick with the second effort) and still lyrically obsessed with Deth, gore, and his fear of female genitalia. Production and musicianship are as solid as ever.

I’m sort of pissing into the wind here anyway; if you have any connection to Metalocalypse you’ve heard this record already. It’s good when it’s good, and better when it’s not afraid to be as dumb as its own premise. 7 out of 10

* Same dudes call Arch Enemy “derivative and generic”. Putting that assessment aside for now, am I alone in thinking that Dethklok’s guitar sound is heavily based on AE? Besides, Skwisgaar and Toki are the Amott brothers, no doubt about that.

One Response to “Album Review – Dethklok “Dethalbum III” 2012”

  1. Totally AE worship, when it’s not Cannibal Corpse worship. And completely Amott bros.

Leave a Reply

